A Foodie on Vacation – Dana Point, CA

This year we decided to head out on our annual family vacation the week of 4th of July. We’re either genius or insane…somehow I think a smidge of both. It was a wonderful week spent with my sisters family, relaxing on the beach, shopping (sorry boys), a water park, and more beach.  We stayed at a condo on Strand Beach in CA. Literally across the street from the beach. Albeit down (and up) 168 stairs to get to the beach, but well worth it.

I must confess, as a self-confessed foodie, I took a dismal amount of pictures of the food we ate. I know. I suck. But I think you’ll enjoy the pics I did take. 🙂

Breakfast:  We all know this is the most important meal of the day and one of my favorites!

We found two great places in Dana Point that I’d highly recommend. Stacks Pancake House. Click on the link, their pics are way better than anything I could have taken. This was a cute place on the main PCH drag through Dana Point. The menu is quite extensive from simple pancakes to elaborate egg dishes with unique handcrafted sausages.

RJ’s Cafe by the Dana Point Harbor was the 2nd bkfst place we discovered. Unfortunately we didn’t discover them until the day we left, otherwise we probably would have been back more than once to try more of the menu.  Another extensive menu with a huge variety of breakfast (and lunch ) items.  They sell bottles of hot sauce (can’t remember the name) that are phenomenal and of course I didn’t buy any to bring home. But just gives me a reason to go back right?!

Dinner: We ate out twice for dinner. The first was phenomenal, the second, not so much.

Salt Creek GrilleDana Point, CA.  We ate here on the 4th of July. Without a reservation. *See above comment re: insanity. But they were very gracious and very accommodating for our large (and picky eaters) party. Salt Creek Grille has a beautiful, welcoming patio they utilize as their bar/Happy Hour as well as outside seating. I wish we’d been able to eat out there but it was chilly. If we ever go to Dana Point sans kids, we will be heading back to Salt Creek Grille to enjoy the patio. The menu was American fare with hints of Italian. Everything was amazing. I had the Rock Shrimp Risotto, wonderful flavor, not too heavy, and highly recommended.

One of my favorite finds is JC Beans Coffee House. Many of you know I’m a die-hard Starbucks fan. But JC Beans has hands down the best coffee/espresso I’ve ever had. Ever. Sorry Starbucks.

 

We will be back to Dana Point, CA. It’s easy distance to much of the fun things to do in Southern CA.

This entry was posted in Favorite Things, Must try, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

